TRAPPED ON HESPELER ROAD

There is certainly no shortage of dining options on Hespeler Road. In fact, there are a relative plethora of options out there, many of which I have travelled specifically to Cambridge to visit. On this trip though, we were looking for something quick, easy, healthy-ish and cheaper. Plus, there is actually someone on this planet who is pickier than I am, thus we ended up at Angels Diner.

image

Simply put, I really can’t be bothered with this place, except maybe for breakfast. I feel this way about all of the similarly styled restaurants in the tri-cities. There is a reason I try not to enter any of these places after noon. The Angels Salad Wrap that I ate is a very good example of just that. I promise you, even with my extremely limited skill, I could have made something much more palatable myself. It was described as containing chicken, ham, bacon, two cheeses and lettuce tossed in ranch. First of all, nothing was ‘tossed’ in ranch. Everything, including the lettuce, was bare and there was the smallest amount of ranch I have ever seen added on before the wrap was closed. The bacon bits were just that – bacon bits, like the kind you can buy in a resealable bag at the grocery store. The cheeses were also the sort you can buy in pre-shredded, two cheese blends. Due to the severe lack of condiments, and overly generous amount of cheese, there was very little flavour other than ‘cheese’ and it was so dry that it was difficult to finish. In short, this was the plainest, most boring wrap I’ve ever had. Although this wrap will probably be remembered as one of the least appetizing things I have ever paid to eat, without even containing any ‘offensive’ ingredient (along with this similarly disappointing wrap), the meal itself did have one redeeming element: the beef and barley soup. I admit that I am highly skeptical about whether or not this was made in house (considering they do not seem to be able to cook their own bacon, let alone shred their own cheese), but it did look and taste as if it was. It had lots of barley, the flavour was full, but it didn’t have the greasy layer on top that canned beef soups often have.

image

My mate went for the hot roast beef. The difference in quality between these two dishes is a little bit crazy to me. A restaurant that puts no effort into its wraps will take the time to fry up their veggies with seasoning, not just steam them?! I don’t get it. Regardless of whether this dish was good or not though, the consistency is obviously not there, so I am not too eager to come here again.

Our meal, consisting of the wrap, the hot beef and a coffee, came to $26.16

This entry was posted in Average, Budget, Cambridge, Local Chain, Lunch and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Got some thoughts to share?