MMMMAMMA MIA!

Today is a happy day, I get to add a new restaurant to my ‘Favorites’ list. I just love it when I find somewhere new and wonderful. Today’s great find is Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria.

image

If you are an avid fan of The Food Network like I am, then the oven pictured above is nothing new to you. You probably also know that any true, Neapolitan style pizza is made in one. When I saw it, I’ll admit, I was a little bit skeptical. The Food Network does a really good job of building up expectations, so I was worried that this place would not live up to all the hopes that television had instilled in me. I am happy to report that, after one bite, my fears melted away.

image

It wasn’t until a few hours after eating that I realized I had ordered, ate and enjoyed a pizza that had been completely devoid of meat! Not to mention that the list of toppings did not seem like something a picky eater would eat, but I already know that I like apple and cheese together, and I love roasted peppers, so what harm could some spicy raisins, pine nuts, and sautéed spinach do? None, that’s what! In fact, the raisins turned out to be my favorite part! Conveniently there was a photo of this very pizza on one of the menus at the table, and having an idea of what it was going to look like helped in my confidence when choosing it. And boy am I ever glad I did. This appears to be the only pizza on the menu with their new Sauce Romesco and I certainly hope that the next time I go in it has found its way onto more selections. The combination of the sweetness of the fruit and the savoury sauce was perfection. And the crust, the crust! The crust on Neapolitan pizza is what it is all about. If you have never tried it I definitely recommend it. Once you try it I am sure you will not want to go back to the overly doughy American style crust.

image

Look at me, I’m so caught up on the pizza that I completely forgot to tell you all about the appetizer we started with, which also happened to be to-die-for. Prosciutto Wrapped Mozza Balls. I am pretty sure these things fell from heaven and landed on our table. I wish I could purchase the tomato sauce they came in for use at home. I would love to smother some pasta in it! The garlic bread on the side had just the right amount of garlic and crunch. And the mozza balls themselves seemed to melt in my mouth! I ate mine by putting it on the garlic bread and sort of smoothing it out as best as I could. I somehow doubt that that is what you are intended to do, but it’ll be the way I eat them from now on.

image

My mate got the opposite of what I did with toppings that were all meat. Personally, I think mine was way better, but to each their own! Next time we visit we may try to decide on one pizza to share. In the end we had 3 slices, the equivalent of half of a whole pizza, left and got them boxed to bring home. The box has a nice little ‘warning’ on it that advises that the pizza is best eaten fresh and that is true, the crust just isn’t the same the second time around. But having the leftovers was a nice way to momentarily relive that fabulous meal.

The two pizzas, the mozza balls, a coffee and a San Pellegrino Pompelmo soda came to around a total of about $40, including a $10 off coupon that we had.

Famoso Neapolitan Pizzeria (Waterloo) on Urbanspoon

This entry was posted in Appetizers, Average, Dinner, Favorites, Italian, Vegetarian, Waterloo, Widespread Chain and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

Got some thoughts to share?

